On behalf of the Organising Committee, the Council of the European Radiation Research Society and the Hungarian Biophysical Society, it is our pleasure to cordially invite you to the 44th European Radiation Research Congress (ERR2018), which will be held in Pécs, Hungary from August 21-25, 2018. ERR2018 is organized under the auspices of the European Radiation Research Society (ERRS) and the Hungarian Biophysical Society. One of the major goals of ERRS is to encourage international cooperation and communication in all fields of radiation research. This Meeting will provide a forum for the exchange of scientific ideas for all scientists and clinicians of various countries within the field of radiation science.

As in previous years, all aspects of radiation research will be covered by the scientific program. The program will contain educational lectures to facilitate contacts between young and established scientists.

ERRS will offer a number of travel awards for young scientists. The eligibility criteria are defined in the application form available at ERRS Web site.

An international scientific congress is always an opportunity to pass on knowledge, renew old acquaintances, make new friends and it can also be an occasion to start collaboration in new projects. It is a time to discover another city, another country and to see new insights and new customs.

Pécs is a picturesque and lively university city in the Southern part of Hungary. There is a great choice of social events and it is an ideal place for visitors. We hope you will enjoy Pécs and Hungary.

Géza Sáfrány
Congress President

László Mátyus
President of the Hungarian Biophysical Society

Katalin Lumniczky
Secretary General

Lorenzo Manti
President of the European Radiation Research Society


Tuesday, 21 August -
Saturday, 25 August, 2018

Congress Venue

University of Pécs Medical School
7624 Pécs, Szigeti út 12.


The official language of the Congress is English. Translations are not provided.

Currency / Credit Cards

The official currency is Hungarian Forint (Ft) and at the time of the printing of this invitation program 1 Euro = 310 Ft. Major credit cards are accepted in hotels, restaurants and shops.

Climate and Dress

The weather in Hungary at this time of the year is usually warm with temperatures approximately 25 degrees Celsius; showers may occur. Informal dress is recommended.


Electrical current in Hungary is 220 V/50 Hz. Two-pin plugs are used. Appliances designed to operate on 110/120 Volts need a voltage converter and a plug adapter.

Congress Kit and Name Badge

Each participant will receive the printed material of the Congress and a name badge upon registration. For security reasons all participants are requested to wear their badge during all the congress activities and social events.


Hungary is a member of the European Union. Citizens of most of the European countries therefore, do not need a visa to enter Hungary. Check passport and visa requirements in due time and submit a visa application prior to your entry into Hungary, if it is needed. Ask the nearest Hungarian embassy or consulate whether you need a visa for entering Hungary. If you need an invitation letter to get the visa, please contact the Congress Secretariat.

Liability & Insurance

The Organizers accepts no liability for any injuries/losses incurred by participants and/or accompanying persons, nor loss of, or damage to, any luggage and/or personal belongings. Participants are strongly advised to take their own personal insurance policies.

Important deadlines

Submission of Young Investigator Awards application April 15, 2018
Early registration fee June 19, 2018
Late registration fee August 10, 2018
Abstract submission June 19, 2018
Notification to abstract authors July 31, 2018


Organizing Committee
  • Sáfrány G., Congress President
  • Lumniczky K., Secretary General
  • Pusztai M., Treasurer
  • Jendrolovics K., Secretariat
International Scientific Committee
  • Manti L., President
  • Atkinson M.
  • Baatout S.
  • Benderitter M.
  • Benotmane A.
  • Borgmann K.
  • Bouffler, S.
  • Dörr W.
  • Haghdoost S.
  • Hammond E.
  • Hofer M.
  • Janiak JM.
  • Kadhim M.
  • Kraft G.
  • Lyng F.
  • Moreels M.
  • Mothersill C.
  • Sabatier L.
  • Sminia, P.
  • Tapio, S.
Hungarian Scientific Committee
  • Nyitrai M., President
  • Hideghéty K.
  • Jurányi Zs.
  • Lumniczky K.
  • Madas B.
  • Thuróczy Gy.
Program Committee
  • Lumniczky K., President
  • Madas B.
  • Szatmári T.
  • Hargitai R.